top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJames Shipsides

Theresa’s Sound World: Musical Links

Theresa’s Sound World: 🎼Musical Links


Yesterday, on my Eardrum Buzz Radio show, one of the musical acts I played a track by was introspective singer/songwriter, Nick Talbot, otherwise known as Gravenhurst. Unfortunately, Nick is no longer with us, but his tunes are still much loved and are an inspiration for many bands and artists. I saw Nick play live as Gravenhurst many times and met him on numerous occasions. He often talked of his influences and inspirations; The Art-Rock of Sonic Youth, the gentle pastoral charm of Nick Drake and the gentle-then-noisy of sometime 4AD band, (the) Red house painters. Very early in his career, I saw Nick perform note-perfect acoustic versions of ‘Sundays and Holidays’ by Red House Painters. Click on the first link to listen to the original ‘Sundays and Holidays’ by Red House Painters. Click the second link to listen to Eardrum Buzz Radio and if you missed my show, it’s repeated at 8pm GMT/ 12pm PST weekdays during January. Click the third link to watch the music video of the track ‘The Velvet Cell’ by Gravenhurst, as featured on my radio show. Finally, a fourth link gets you to an ‘inspirational music person’ blog I wrote about Nick Talbot and my memories of meeting him and watching Gravenhurst play live, in and around where he was based, Bristol, England⭐️


🎼Listen to ‘Sundays and Holidays’ by Red House Painters: https://youtu.be/9vF4TDHN2FI


🎼Listen to Eardrum Buzz Radio/ My Radio Show: https://www.eardrumbuzz.net/


🎬Watch the music video of ‘The Velvet Cell’ by Gravenhurst: https://youtu.be/AUPqwWG8Zes


📚Read my ‘Inspirational Music Person’ blog; my memories of Nick Talbot aka Gravenhurst: https://www.facebook.com/116279076583978/posts/128264105385475/?d=n


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Social Media Holiday

Theresa’s Sound World Alternative Music Blog is on a Social Media Holiday. Don’t forget to check out the May edition of my Eardrum Buzz Radio show. Re-broadcast Weekdays 8PM GMT/ 12PM PST on Eardrumbu

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page